Bathypolypus arcticus

JamesBWood
  • Total Posts : 2
  • Scores: 0
  • Reward points : 21
Bathypolypus arcticus - Sunday, November 13, 2011 6:12 PM
I am posting to report success with stage 1 to 4 for the deep-sea octopus, Bathypolypus arcticus.   This work was conducted as part of my PhD at Dalhousie University in Nova Scotia; Dr. Ron O'Dor was my adviser.  

I believe that this work is the first and only time any species of deep-sea octopus has been successfully collected from the wild, bred in captivity, hatched successfully and raised for over a year from captive laid eggs.  

As documented in:

I believe this image compilation shows the only existing 35 mm photographs of any species of deep-sea octopus hatching.
This is my first time posting here; apologies for any breaks in etiquette.

Dr. James B. Wood
The Cephalopod Page - Webmaster
Co-author of Octopus: The Ocean's Intelligent Invertebrate 

James B. Wood Ph.D.
The Cephalopod Page - Webmaster
Octopus: The Ocean's Intelligent Invertebrate - Coauthor

JamesBWood
  • Total Posts : 2
  • Reward points : 21
Re:Bathypolypus arcticus - Sunday, November 13, 2011 6:25 PM
I have been unsuccessful in entering anything into the species box on this form:

!IMPORTANT!
Please be aware that the burden of proof that you have made a species first will lie with the person submitting the request. Additionally the amount of information required to approve a Species First request is much greater than a standard event. Please make sure that the Breeding Journal associated with this request is as up to date and detailed as possible. If you had previousily published a report of the success somewhere outside of the MBI system include a link to the location and the date the report was published in the details below. You can only submit a Species First request for a Species that you have already submitted all four events report and have been awarded a success for. 

Thank you for your understanding
The MBI Council