Perc v. false perc

patent
  • Total Posts : 67
  • Scores: 0
  • Reward points : 843
Perc v. false perc - Wednesday, May 30, 2012 9:34 PM
Have a couple mature pairs of clowns I purchased locally to learn about breeding.  Neither owner seemed particularly sure (to me) which type of clowns he had, and I was wondering if anyone has opinions on what these two pairs are, occelaris or percula?

I'm not very good with the camera yet, but if you need a different pic just ask and I'll do my best.  Thanks for any help, just want to label them correctly down the road.  Also, any way to tell from their offspring's development if I get that far?

==============
Pair 1:  Female is probably about 4 inches in size.  Male is 2.5"  they've started laying eggs, and that's probably the main motivation for this thread.  They don't have any right now, and I didn't get a pic of the clutch the first time.  A couple pics, all three are mainly of the female, didn't get any good pics of the male though he is a mini me:

pair 1 pic a.jpg by patentfish, on Flickr

pair 1 pic b by patentfish, on Flickr

pair 1 pic c by patentfish, on Flickr

===================================================

Pair 2, female is about 3 inches, male is about 2 inches.  No eggs yet, though the female has looked fattened up from time to time no real action I've seen so far.

pair 2 pic a by patentfish, on Flickr

pair 2 pic b by patentfish, on Flickr

pair 2 pic c by patentfish, on Flickr

Fishtal
  • Total Posts : 5467
  • Scores: 37
  • Reward points : 2908
Re:Perc v. false perc - Wednesday, May 30, 2012 9:50 PM
Just going from the pics I would say they are all A. ocellaris. The number of dorsal spines can be inconclusive.