How to properly set up a QT tank

qterry22
  • Total Posts : 29
  • Scores: 0
  • Reward points : 90
How to properly set up a QT tank - Wednesday, December 5, 2012 2:31 AM
Just curious as to how to set up a QT and more so whats the proper way to QT something. I am in the beginning stages of building my fish room. I want to have a QT area set up for ALL incoming inverts and fish. I never had to QT before. I am very new to the hobby and havent had much good or bad luck lol. 

However I did have to add Prazipro to my DT tank due to a parasitic worm infestation of my fish. I believe the stress from re-homing them from the breeder caused their immune system to drop and become infested. I started seeing long stringy white poop(Could this come from eating the copepods in my tank? If so would this also explain their snobbish eating habits? They only eat cyclopeeze. As if anything else is not good enough. If I am lucky they will try my flakes or pellets then spit them out  ) . After the  initial dosing it appeared to get better but I could still see some signs of the stringy white poop. So I dosed again and so far haven't seen any signs of it. I am still in the waiting period for the second dose. Sunday will mark the 7th day and I will update this thread on the result. 

First dose was on 11/25/12
Second dose was on 12/2/12

So for future reference what do I do with the QT tank. My thoughts are getting a 10 gal. and filling it with sterile SW. Adding Prazipro to deworm them and then monitor them for any other health issues. How long do I QT for? What all do I initially treat for and how long? 

Thanks for the feedback

Q

Fishtal
  • Total Posts : 5467
  • Scores: 37
  • Reward points : 2908
Re:How to properly set up a QT tank - Wednesday, December 5, 2012 2:43 AM
There are many ways to set up a QT. I choose to set up a simple 10G tank, depending on fish size, and observe the new fish. I don't treat for anything unless I see a problem.