Breeding Journal, Species: Clibanarius tricolor

shannpeach
  • Total Posts : 955
  • Reward points : 676
Breeding Journal, Species: Clibanarius tricolor - Monday, September 2, 2013 8:24 AM
Breeding Journal DataSheet
This first post should be updated regularly to include new information as events take place or changes are made to your system

General
Species:  Clibanarius tricolor
Social Structure:  Multiple individuals
Size of Individuals: 
Age of Individuals:  Unknown
Date added to Tank:  Various times throughout the years as needed.  None have been added to the tank I have been collecting out for for at least several months.

Broodstock Tank Details
Size of Tank:  30 gallon
Substrate Details:  Sand
Filtration Details:  Live rock, canister filter
Water Changes:  5 gallons once a week or once every two weeks
Water Temperature:  ~78-80F
Lighting:  LED fixture
Lighting Cycle:  6AM to 8PM 
Other Tank Inhabitants:  A. ocellaris pair, one scarlet hermit, several peppermint shrimp (originally four, but now only ever see two at any given time), four (maybe only three) M. forceps (red emerald crab), Columbellid snails (lots), Spotted Mandarin

Broodstock Feeding Details
Food Types:  flake, frozen mash, blackworms, lots of algae also present in the tank so they can likely graze all day long to their heart's content
Feeding Schedule:  Prepared food at least twice a day

Spawning Details
Date of First Spawn:  Unknown, but the first I collected from this tank was 9-1-2013
Spawn Time of Day:  Unknown
Dates of Consecutive Spawns:  I caught another hatch on 9-2-2013
Courtship Details:  None noted
Egg Size:  Unknown
Egg Color:  Unknown
Egg Count:  Unknown, but collected several hundred larvae, so at least several hundred eggs (or perhaps less, but larvae were from several different females)

Hatch Details
Hatch Date:  The first I collected from this tank was 9-1-2013; Consecutive hatches:9-2-2013, 9-13-2013, 9-20-2013, 9-30-2013            
Hatch Time of Day:  After 8PM/lights out