Apocyclops panamensis Q & A

clayton447
  • Total Posts : 78
  • Scores: -1
  • Reward points : 506
Apocyclops panamensis Q & A - Thursday, July 30, 2015 1:57 PM
I'm sorry I missed this year's MBI workshop.  I wanted so desperately to discuss copepods with everyone.  I will not miss another, I can assure you!   

Now, on to my discussion/questions regarding Apocyclops panamensis.  I have been working with this pod now for 3 months, and I must say that it is incredibly durable.  I am culturing it on nothing but Instant Algae (Tet 3600 and Iso 1800), and, since the algae is non-viable, I am keen to keep pursuing this species.  I have found that this pod is euryhaline, so I have it in 15 ppt water for now, and they seem to be doing just fine.  I am working on improving feed dosing, water quality stabilization, optimal adult stocking densities and harvesting methods.  I have read everyone's threads on this animal and the information has been quite useful.  There are a number of breeders all over the world looking for copepods that will eat non-viable algae, or perhaps bacteria, so my focus has been to find the right pod and optimize mass-production protocols.  It is my understanding that people have fed these guys to larval and juvenile fish.  What about invertebrates?  Also, does anyone have any pictures/information/protocols/systems for harvesting copepod nauplii passively.  I welcome all callers! 

Chad

JoeDigiorgio
  • Total Posts : 278
  • Reward points : 823
Re:Apocyclops panamensis Q & A - Thursday, July 30, 2015 11:58 PM
Following this. It's a pod I'm very interested in myself for a few projects I have in the works.

Fishtal
  • Total Posts : 5467
  • Scores: 37
  • Reward points : 2908
Re:Apocyclops panamensis Q & A - Friday, July 31, 2015 12:08 AM
I'm glad you learned your lesson.